channeling “everything is copy”

Mindy is a recent hire. Larry is her boss — just a couple years older than she. On her second day on the job, Mindy loses a document that costs the office a pretty Benjamin and warrants an apologetic phone call to a new client.

***SCENE 1***

Mindy: I’m so sorry, but I can’t seem to find the papers. I’ve misplaced them.

Larry: That’s kinda fucked up.

Mindy: …

Larry: That’s kinda fucked up, isn’t it? That you lost the papers.

Mindy: Yeah, I’m so sorry. I must’ve given it back to the client instead of filing it. I have the client’s contact information if you want to give them a call.

Larry: Okay yeah, you’re definitely not getting this commission. You better make sure that doesn’t happen again.

Mindy: Of course not. It won’t. I’m sorry.

 

***SCENE 2***

Mindy: I’m so sorry, but I can’t seem to find the papers. I’ve misplaced them. I must’ve given it back to the client instead of filing it. I have their contact information if you want to give them a call.

Larry: Oh. Well okay, make sure that doesn’t happen again. Unfortunately, I’m going to have to subtract that commission from your paycheck if we don’t find the papers.

Mindy: That’s totally fine, I completely understand. Again, I’m so sorry.

Larry: It’s alright, it happens. Next time, reserve an entire shelf of your filing cabinet for these kinds of contracts. And file them as soon as they hit your desk.

Mindy: Will do! Thanks so much for understanding. Also, for the tip. It won’t happen again, I promise.

Larry: Glad to hear it.

 

***SCENE 3***

Mindy: I’m so sorry, but I can’t seem to find the papers. I’ve misplaced them.

Larry: Oh, don’t sweat it. It happens all the time.

Leave a Reply

